One file for every speaker: hand-checked dossier entries and fact checks drafted by the watch desk agents and approved by an editor. Only claims that have been checked are listed; every one opens onto the evidence behind its rating.
Last discovery run: 15 Oct 2026, 13:26 IST, via rss+tavily, 27 official series retrieved
Part of it is true, but the way it was said gives a wrong picture.
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 12 Oct 2026
“India launched Operation Sindoor—nine precise cross-border actions on 7 May”
nine precise cross-border actions, 9 terror camps
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
nine precise cross-border actions
Dhruv Rathee said India launched Operation Sindoor, consisting of nine precise cross-border actions, on 7 May.
open.spotify.com, checked 12 Oct 2026
What is actually true
9 terror camps
terror camps targeted in Operation Sindoor, MEA, 2026
mea.gov.in
The Ministry of External Affairs says multi-agency intelligence provided confirmation of nine major camps targeted in Operation Sindoor. PIB says Operation Sindoor destroyed nine major terror launchpads. The official PIB document also records the first press briefing on 7 May 2025, but does not state the date the operation was launched.
The Ministry of External Affairs confirms that nine major camps were targeted in Operation Sindoor. [3]
PIB says India launched Operation Sindoor to destroy terror bases and eliminated nine terror camps. [1][5]
ORF reports the operation began on the night of 6-7 May 2025; Firstpost says strikes took place at 1.44 am on 7 May. [2][4]
The claim is largely accurate: official records confirm Operation Sindoor and nine terror camps, and the date 7 May is consistent with the first press briefing and reporting. However, the official documents retrieved do not explicitly state the launch date as 7 May; that date comes from non-official sources. Since the official record does not confirm every specific, the verdict is MISSING_CONTEXT rather than ACCURATE.
““One was a Muslim, one a Christian, and the remaining were Hindus.””
one Muslim, one Christian, and the remaining were Hindus
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
one Muslim, one Christian, and the remaining were Hindus
Dhruv Rathee said that of the 26 male victims killed in the 22 April 2025 Pahalgam terror attack in Anantnag, Jammu & Kashmir, one was Muslim, one Christian, and the remainder were Hindus.
thecommunemag.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
The Press Information Bureau (PIB), the government's official publicity office, said in a 14 May 2025 note that the 22 April 2025 Pahalgam attack killed 26 innocent civilians, mostly Hindu tourists [6]. Home Minister Amit Shah's 29 July 2025 Lok Sabha statement also records 26 people killed but gives no religion-wise breakdown [5]. No official list in the provided record states how many of the dead were Muslim, Christian or Hindu.
The PIB's 14 May 2025 note says the Pahalgam attack killed 26 innocent civilians, mostly Hindu tourists. [6][7]
Wikipedia's entry says the attackers targeted Hindu tourists, though a Christian tourist and a local Muslim pony ride operator were also killed. [1][3]
The same Wikipedia entry also says an initial list verified by local officials showed 25 of the 26 killed were Hindus and one was a local Muslim pony operator. [1]
News18 reported that of the 26 victims, 25 were non-Muslims, primarily Hindus, and the lone Muslim fatality was a local horse operator. [4]
The official record confirms the total of 26 dead and that most were Hindu tourists, but it does not support the precise breakdown Rathee gave. Media reports conflict: one says a Christian tourist was killed, while an initial verified list said 25 Hindus and one Muslim. Because the exact religious composition is not established by the official record and the available reports disagree, the claim needs that missing context.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“In the GST Council meeting held on December 21, 2024, crucial tax decisions affected everyday items like popcorn and vehicles, dramatically impacting India's middle class.”
18%
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee said that in the GST Council meeting held on December 21, 2024, crucial tax decisions affected everyday items like popcorn and vehicles, dramatically impacting India's middle class.
youtube.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
18%
GST on old/used vehicles, 55th Council, 21 Dec 2024
cbic-gst.gov.in
The Ministry of Finance's 21 December 2024 press release on the 55th GST Council meeting says the Council recommended increasing GST from 12% to 18% on the sale of all old and used vehicles, including EVs, with GST applicable only on the margin. It also clarified popcorn rates: 5% for ready-to-eat salted/spiced popcorn sold not pre-packaged or labelled, 12% if pre-packaged and labelled, and 18% for caramel popcorn.
The 55th GST Council met on 21 December 2024 in Jaisalmer, chaired by Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman. [5][6]
The Council recommended raising GST on old and used vehicles, including EVs, from 12% to 18%, but only on the margin between purchase price and selling price. [5][6]
The Council clarified popcorn GST: 5% for ready-to-eat salted/spiced popcorn sold not pre-packaged or labelled, 12% if pre-packaged and labelled, and 18% for caramel popcorn. [5][6]
The official press release describes the popcorn change as a clarification to settle interpretation disputes; it does not state that the decisions dramatically impact India's middle class. [5][6]
The meeting and the popcorn and vehicle decisions are real, so the first part of the claim is accurate. But the official record does not support the 'dramatically impacting India's middle class' part. The vehicle rate increase applies only to old and used vehicles and only on the margin, not the full sale price, and the popcorn rates are clarifications of existing classification, not a new tax on all popcorn. That context is missing from the claim.
“This video breaks down what Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi reportedly raised”
The claim is that the two Election Commissioners reportedly raised objections or concerns inside the Election Commission. That is supported by reporting, including the Indian Express investigation. But the official record from the Election Commission says the SIR decisions were unanimous, which is important context the claim leaves out. So the claim is not false, but it is incomplete.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee says Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi reportedly raised objections or concerns inside the Election Commission of India.
youtube.com, 28 Sept 2026
What is actually true
The Election Commission of India's press note of 26 September 2026 says the Special Intensive Revision (SIR) order of 24 June 2025 and the schedules of 27 October 2025 and 14 May 2026 were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission. It also says work re-distribution orders were not actually implemented after the orders of the two Commissioners.
The Indian Express reported that Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi recorded objections at least 14 times over 10 months to decisions issued in the Commission's name without their knowledge or approval. [2][5]
The reported objections related to electoral roll management, voter registration and deletion, changes to Form 6, and the functioning of the Commission's voter database. [2][5]
The Election Commission's press note of 26 September 2026 says the SIR orders were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission, but it does not say the two Commissioners raised no objections on other matters. [9]
The claim is that the two Election Commissioners reportedly raised objections or concerns inside the Election Commission. That is supported by reporting, including the Indian Express investigation. But the official record from the Election Commission says the SIR decisions were unanimous, which is important context the claim leaves out. So the claim is not false, but it is incomplete.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Rathee28 Sept 2026
“An Indian Express investigation has revealed internal objections over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and the SIR process. This video breaks down what Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi reportedly raised, the questions surrounding Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar, and the Election Commission’s response.”
The claim is accurate about what the Indian Express investigation reported, but it presents those reported objections as established fact. The Election Commission's own record says the SIR decisions were unanimous and describes the reported objections as part of the normal deliberative process. Because the official record does not confirm the internal objections over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and SIR, the claim needs that context.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee states that an Indian Express investigation revealed internal objections inside the Election Commission of India over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and the SIR process, raised by Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi, with questions surrounding Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar.
youtube.com, 28 Sept 2026
What is actually true
The Election Commission's press note of 26 September 2026 says the SIR orders of 24 June 2025, 27 October 2025 and 14 May 2026 were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission [11]. It also says work re-distribution orders were not implemented after the orders of the two Commissioners and oversight over the IT division by the DEC was never actually withdrawn [11]. Reporting says the Indian Express investigation claimed the two Election Commissioners recorded at least 14 objections over 10 months on voter registration, deletions, database and appeals [6][8].
The Indian Express report, as described by Livemint and Hindustan Times, said Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi raised at least 14 objections over 10 months about the Election Commission's functioning, including adding and removing voters, the voter database and appeals [6][8]. [6][8]
The Election Commission's press note of 26 September 2026 states that SIR orders were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission [11]. [11]
Election Commission officials told Hindustan Times that all decisions, including SIR, were unanimous and had the approval of both Election Commissioners and the CEC [8]. [8]
The claim is accurate about what the Indian Express investigation reported, but it presents those reported objections as established fact. The Election Commission's own record says the SIR decisions were unanimous and describes the reported objections as part of the normal deliberative process. Because the official record does not confirm the internal objections over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and SIR, the claim needs that context.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Rathee24 Jul 2026
“What really happened during the students’ Parliament march in Delhi on 20 July 2026?”
The claim that a students' march towards Parliament took place in Delhi on 20 July 2026 is supported by contemporaneous media reporting, but the official record available only confirms that Parliament's Monsoon Session began that day. Because press reports alone cannot make the claim accurate, and the record leaves out that the march was CJP-led and was stopped short of Parliament, the claim is missing context rather than fully established.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee states that a students' Parliament march took place in Delhi on 20 July 2026 as part of a protest over students' demands.
youtube.com, 24 Jul 2026
What is actually true
The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs recorded that the Monsoon Session of Parliament commenced on 20 July 2026 [3][6]. Reporting describes a CJP-led student march moving from Jantar Mantar towards Parliament that day, which police stopped with barricades and tear gas [2][5][1]. No official document among the sources confirms the march itself or labels it as a protest over students' demands.
The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs recorded that Parliament's Monsoon Session began on 20 July 2026. [3][6]
Contemporaneous reporting describes a CJP-led student march that moved from Jantar Mantar towards Parliament in Delhi on 20 July 2026. [2][5]
Police used barricades and tear gas to stop the crowd entering Parliament's high-security complex. [1][2][5]
The CJP protest was linked to student concerns, including demands for the resignation of the Union education minister. [4]
The claim that a students' march towards Parliament took place in Delhi on 20 July 2026 is supported by contemporaneous media reporting, but the official record available only confirms that Parliament's Monsoon Session began that day. Because press reports alone cannot make the claim accurate, and the record leaves out that the march was CJP-led and was stopped short of Parliament, the claim is missing context rather than fully established.
How this was checked: Checked against official records