▲Proof needed — office not yet sourced for Dhruv Rathee
Affiliation
▲Proof needed — affiliation not yet sourced for Dhruv Rathee
An office or a party is a dated factual claim in its own right, so neither is printed here without a citation. Where one is missing above it reads as unsourced — it is never guessed at, and never quietly left out.
Verification outcomes
Each number below counts individual statements that this pipeline retrieved and rated. It is a tally of checks on claims, not a score for a person, and it cannot be compared between entities — a larger number means more of that entity’s speech happened to be picked up by a feed.
22
claims retrieved and put through the check.
False
5
No proof
4
Misleading
7
Missing context
6
Claims on the record
Each entry shows what was said, the official series it was compared with, and why the verdict was reached. A statement with no comparable official series stays unverified rather than being guessed at.
Topic
22 claims shown. Ordered by verdict, not by date.
Not true
5 claims
What they said is not true. The official record shows something else.
Not trueDhruv Ratheechecked 12 Oct 2026
“So was Dhruv Rathee right that the tax was removed because of U.S. pressure?”
The claim urges that the equalisation levy was removed because of U.S. pressure. The official record contradicts this: the Finance Minister said in Parliament that the 2% component was removed in July 2024, before President Trump took office, and the 6% component was part of a planned stakeholder-consultation process, not a response to U.S. tariffs. A Finance Ministry press note shows the levy was handled through a bilateral transitional arrangement reached by agreement, not unilateral pressure. No source supports the pressure claim.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee claimed that the Equalisation Levy (Google Tax) was removed because of U.S. pressure.
linkedin.com, checked 12 Oct 2026
What is actually true
Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman told Parliament in March 2025 that the 2% equalisation levy was removed in the July 2024 Budget after stakeholder consultation, much before President Trump took office, and the 6% component was being removed as part of that process, not in reaction to Trump's tariffs [1][3]. A Finance Ministry press note of 28 June 2024 shows India and the US had a transitional arrangement covering the 2% equalisation levy and US trade action, extended by agreement until 30 June 2024 [5][6]. No official record attributes the removal to U.S. pressure.
Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman told Parliament that the equalisation levy removal was not linked to U.S. President Donald Trump's tariff policies, and that the 2% levy was removed in the July 2024 Budget before Trump took office. [1][3]
The government proposed removing the equalisation levy on online advertisements in the Finance Bill 2025; Sitharaman said the 6% levy being removed was part of that process, not a reaction to Trump. [1]
A Press Information Bureau release says India and the United States agreed on terms for India's 2% equalisation levy on e-commerce services and the U.S. trade action, and extended that transitional approach until 30 June 2024. [5][6]
The claim urges that the equalisation levy was removed because of U.S. pressure. The official record contradicts this: the Finance Minister said in Parliament that the 2% component was removed in July 2024, before President Trump took office, and the 6% component was part of a planned stakeholder-consultation process, not a response to U.S. tariffs. A Finance Ministry press note shows the levy was handled through a bilateral transitional arrangement reached by agreement, not unilateral pressure. No source supports the pressure claim.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
Not trueDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“There are conflicting reports by various experts on this because the Indian Govt has not officially released any statement on it.”
The claim rests on the assertion that the Indian government had not officially released a statement. The sources include official PIB press releases and a Lok Sabha answer from the Ministry of External Affairs, all of which are official government statements on the border situation. Therefore the claim is contradicted directly.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee said there are conflicting reports by various experts on the India-China border situation because the Indian government has not officially released any statement on it.
rutube.ru, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
The Prime Minister's Office issued an official press release on 20 June 2020 about the Ladakh border situation [7]. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh made a detailed statement in Rajya Sabha on 17 September 2020 [3]. The Ministry of External Affairs also answered a Lok Sabha question on 16 September 2020 describing the clashes and subsequent talks [2].
The Prime Minister's Office published an official press release on 20 June 2020 titled 'Statement on All Party Meeting of 19th June 2020' covering the Ladakh LAC situation. [7]
Raksha Mantri Rajnath Singh gave a detailed official statement in Rajya Sabha on 17 September 2020 about developments on the Ladakh border, including the 15 June 2020 Galwan clash. [3]
The Ministry of External Affairs replied to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.604 on 16 September 2020 with details of India-China military and diplomatic meetings after the border tension. [2]
A Ministry of External Affairs statement in June 2020 said Indian troops are fully familiar with the LAC alignment, India had never undertaken actions across the LAC, and Chinese troops' actions on 15 June 2020 led to casualties. [6]
The claim rests on the assertion that the Indian government had not officially released a statement. The sources include official PIB press releases and a Lok Sabha answer from the Ministry of External Affairs, all of which are official government statements on the border situation. Therefore the claim is contradicted directly.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
Not trueDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“He alleged that Modi’s assurance that the government would bring a new law and take strict action against paper leaks amounted to “false promises”.”
Dhruv Rathee's claim treats the assurance as an empty false promise, but the official record shows the government passed a law to prevent paper-leak malpractices and the CBI took concrete enforcement steps, including chargesheets and arrests. Reporting on slow trials or questions about progress does not establish that the promise was false.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee alleged that Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s assurance that the government would bring a new law and take strict action against paper leaks amounted to false promises.
madhyamamonline.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
The Press Information Bureau said on 6 February 2024 that the Lok Sabha passed the Public Examinations (Prevention of Unfair Means) Bill, 2024, to curb paper leaks and malpractices in exams such as UPSC, SSC, NEET, JEE and CUET. The Bill had been introduced the previous day, on 5 February 2024. In the 2024 NEET case, the CBI filed a chargesheet against 45 individuals by November 2024, and in the 2026 NEET case it had arrested 13 people, according to news reports.
The Lok Sabha passed the Public Examinations (Prevention of Unfair Means) Bill, 2024 on 6 February 2024, a law aimed at curbing paper leaks in recruitment and entrance exams. [2]
The Public Examinations (Prevention of Unfair Means) Bill, 2024 was introduced in the Lok Sabha on 5 February 2024. [3][4]
In the 2024 NEET paper-leak case, the CBI filed a chargesheet against 45 individuals by November 2024; in the 2026 NEET case it arrested 13 people according to reports. [1]
Prime Minister Modi announced fast-track courts and tougher measures against paper leaks, and the government said it had further tightened existing laws against paper leaks and cheating. [7][8]
Dhruv Rathee's claim treats the assurance as an empty false promise, but the official record shows the government passed a law to prevent paper-leak malpractices and the CBI took concrete enforcement steps, including chargesheets and arrests. Reporting on slow trials or questions about progress does not establish that the promise was false.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
Not trueDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“The bottom 50% of India's population contributes over 60% of total GST revenue.”
over 60%
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
over 60%
Dhruv Rathee said the bottom 50% of India's population contributes over 60% of total GST revenue.
jotosob.in, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
In a Lok Sabha reply, the Ministry of Finance said the Oxfam Report 2023 figure of 64.3% is "not with respect to the total GST revenue but GST from only some selected items," and added that 90% of GST is paid by the top 22% of businesses with turnover above ₹50 crore. Independent academic work estimates the bottom 50% of the population contributes about 9.6% of total GST revenue, not over 60%. Oxfam's own 64.3% figure, as reported in the press, is for select food and non-food items only.
A Ministry of Finance reply in the Lok Sabha says the 64.3% figure from the Oxfam Report 2023 'is not with respect to the total GST revenue but GST from only some selected items.' [1]
The same Lok Sabha reply says that from return-filing data for April 2022 to January 2023, 90% of GST is paid by the top 22% of businesses with turnover above ₹50 crore. [1]
An SPJIMR paper estimates the bottom 50% of the population contributes 28% of the GST paid by households and only 9.6% of total GST revenue collected. [3]
A paper by Vidhu Shekhar likewise finds the bottom 50% contributes only 9.6% of total GST revenue, contrary to Oxfam's 64.3% claim. [4]
Media coverage of the Oxfam report says a little less than two-thirds, 64.3%, of GST comes from the bottom 50%, and further says the figure is for spending on select food and non-food items. [8]
The claim says the bottom 50% contributes 'over 60% of total GST revenue.' The 64.3% figure exists, but the government's reply in Parliament clarifies that it is GST from only some selected items, not total GST. Independent academic estimates put the bottom 50%'s share of total GST far lower, around 9.6%. Because the claim attaches the over-60% number to total GST revenue, the specific assertion is contradicted by the record.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
Not trueDhruv Ratheechecked 30 Sept 2026
“Dhruv Rathee's video claims the Election Commission's Special Intensive Revision arbitrarily removed about 12% of West Bengal's electorate using untested software, dropping the total from 75.8 million in 2024 to 64.56 million now.”
The 12% headline figure is roughly accurate according to reporting. But the accusation that removals were 'arbitrary' is directly contradicted by the Supreme Court, which examined the procedure and found it was not contrary to the rules. The 'untested software' part has no basis anywhere in the record, which describes the revision as Booth Level Officer house-to-house verification, not a software process. The specific numbers attributed to the claim, 75.8 million falling to 64.56 million, also do not match the reported figures of 7.66 crore to 6.77 crore.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee claimed that the Election Commission's Special Intensive Revision arbitrarily removed about 12% of West Bengal's electorate using untested software, dropping the total from 75.8 million in 2024 to 64.56 million now.
x.com, checked 30 Sept 2026
What is actually true
The Hindu reports the Special Intensive Revision in West Bengal began on November 4, 2025 with 7.66 crore voters on the list, and the number of eligible voters after the exercise is 6.77 crore [5]. The BBC and Times Now both describe a drop of about 12%, or roughly nine million voters, from a 76 million electorate [2][4]. The Supreme Court, in its May 2026 judgment, held that deletions made under the Special Intensive Revision 'cannot be said to be contrary to the procedure prescribed under Rule 21A of the 1960 Rules' [10]. The Election Commission describes deletions as carried out only after house-to-house verification by Booth Level Officers, covering deaths, permanent shifts of residence, duplicate entries and untraceable electors [11][12].
The Special Intensive Revision in West Bengal began with 7.66 crore voters on the roll, and the eligible electorate after the exercise stood at 6.77 crore [5]. [5]
Reporting puts the drop at about 12%, or roughly nine million voters removed from a 76 million electorate [2][4]. [2][4]
The Supreme Court held that deletions under the Special Intensive Revision were not contrary to the procedure prescribed under Rule 21A of the 1960 Rules [10]. [10]
The Election Commission says deletions happened only after house-to-house verification by Booth Level Officers, under categories of death, permanent shifting of residence, duplicate entries and untraceable electors [11][12]. [11][12]
No source in the record mentions any software used in the revision, tested or otherwise; the process is described as enumeration by Booth Level Officers [11][12]. [11][12]
The 12% headline figure is roughly accurate according to reporting. But the accusation that removals were 'arbitrary' is directly contradicted by the Supreme Court, which examined the procedure and found it was not contrary to the rules. The 'untested software' part has no basis anywhere in the record, which describes the revision as Booth Level Officer house-to-house verification, not a software process. The specific numbers attributed to the claim, 75.8 million falling to 64.56 million, also do not match the reported figures of 7.66 crore to 6.77 crore.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
No proof
4 claims
A serious accusation with nothing behind it: no court, no inquiry and no official figure supports it, and the speaker gave none.
No proofDhruv Rathee11 Oct 2026
“Further in the video, he claimed that the police misbehaved with his parents and manhandled him.”
The claim is an allegation of police misconduct. No police report, court order, or NHRC notice in the sources confirms that police misbehaved with his parents or manhandled him. His own description of being 'kidnapped' is his position, not proof. The NHRC notice concerns different people and a different date, so it does not support this claim.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee claimed that Gurugram Police misbehaved with his parents and manhandled him during his detention.
hindustantimes.com, 11 Oct 2026
What is actually true
The available record shows Dhruv Rathee was detained at his Gurugram residence on 10 October 2026 and released after about 18 hours; he described the detention as a 'kidnapping'. The National Human Rights Commission took cognizance of reported sexual harassment of three journalists by Delhi Police at Jantar Mantar on 3 October 2026, but that notice does not concern Rathee or his parents.
Dhruv Rathee was arrested on 10 October 2026 from his home in Gurgaon, where he was staying with his parents. [1]
Gurugram Police released him after nearly 18 hours of detention, and he said he was 'kidnapped'. [4]
The National Human Rights Commission took cognizance of reported sexual harassment of three journalists by Delhi Police at Jantar Mantar on 3 October 2026, but this is a separate matter and does not mention Rathee or his parents. [3]
The claim is an allegation of police misconduct. No police report, court order, or NHRC notice in the sources confirms that police misbehaved with his parents or manhandled him. His own description of being 'kidnapped' is his position, not proof. The NHRC notice concerns different people and a different date, so it does not support this claim.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
No proofDhruv Rathee11 Oct 2026
“He said the situation was an “unofficial emergency” and accused Prime Minister Narendra Modi of “turning the country into a dictatorship”.”
The claim is an allegation and a political characterisation, not a factual assertion that can be checked against a single official figure. The official record — Supreme Court judgments on the electoral roll revision and election commissioner appointments — contains no finding that India is under an unofficial emergency or that Prime Minister Modi is turning the country into a dictatorship. The courts instead affirm constitutional rule of law. Opposition leaders' statements and media reports repeat the allegation but do not establish it. Therefore the verdict is NO_PROOF.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee called the situation an 'unofficial emergency' and accused Prime Minister Narendra Modi of turning the country into a dictatorship.
hindustantimes.com, 11 Oct 2026
What is actually true
The Supreme Court's 27 May 2026 judgment on the Bihar Special Intensive Revision examined the Election Commission's exercise and held that determining citizenship is exclusively the Ministry of Home Affairs' domain, but it did not find that India is a dictatorship [4]. In a separate 23 September 2026 judgment on election commissioner appointments, the Court reiterated that India is a government of laws, not of men, and that rulers are bound by law [12]. Media reports describe protests and opposition leaders' allegations of dictatorship, but these are not official findings [1][5][7].
The Supreme Court's 27 May 2026 judgment in Association for Democratic Reforms v Election Commission of India examined the Bihar Special Intensive Revision and held that determining citizenship is exclusively the Ministry of Home Affairs' domain, not the Election Commission's [4]. [4]
The Supreme Court's 23 September 2026 judgment states that India's constitutional scheme is a government of laws, not of men, where rulers are bound by law and can never be above the law [12]. [12]
Opposition leaders, including Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and Rahul Gandhi, have called India a dictatorship, but these are political statements, not official findings [5][7]. [5][7]
Media reports describe protests over the Election Commission's voter roll revision and allegations of bias, but no court or commission has found that Prime Minister Modi is turning India into a dictatorship [1][2]. [1][2]
The claim is an allegation and a political characterisation, not a factual assertion that can be checked against a single official figure. The official record — Supreme Court judgments on the electoral roll revision and election commissioner appointments — contains no finding that India is under an unofficial emergency or that Prime Minister Modi is turning the country into a dictatorship. The courts instead affirm constitutional rule of law. Opposition leaders' statements and media reports repeat the allegation but do not establish it. Therefore the verdict is NO_PROOF.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
No proofDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“Surrender Modi surrendered once again to Trump”
The claim that Prime Minister Modi 'surrendered' to President Trump is a characterisation of diplomatic conduct, and Rathee's post offers no document, court finding or official figure to support it. The record before me instead shows India negotiating — a minister setting conditions on executing the deal, the external affairs minister raising objections to a US sanctions law, and a leaders' call described as a 'productive conversation' reviewing cooperation. None of the official PIB releases or independent reports document any concession that amounts to a surrender, so the characterisation is not supported by the record.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee said that Prime Minister Modi surrendered once again to US President Trump, as posted on X on 25-26 September 2026.
x.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
On 24 June 2026, a PIB release said US Trade Representative Jamieson Greer visited New Delhi for bilateral trade agreement talks, including work on an interim deal in line with the joint statement of 7 February 2026 [3]. Media reports record that Commerce Minister Piyush Goyal said on 24 September 2026 that the trade pact is 'done and dusted' but will be executed only once the US gives India 'the right competitive advantage' over its competitors, and that External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar raised India's concerns about the US sanctions law on Russia and Iran [7]. Prime Minister Modi and President Trump then held a phone call on 30 September 2026, described by Modi as a 'productive conversation' reviewing trade, defence, energy and critical technologies [2][6][8]. No official document in the record shows any Indian concession described as a surrender.
A PIB release dated 24 June 2026 records US Trade Representative Jamieson Greer's visit to New Delhi for talks on a bilateral trade agreement and an interim deal, following the 7 February 2026 joint statement [3]. [3]
Commerce Minister Piyush Goyal said on 24 September 2026 that the India–US trade pact is 'done and dusted' but will be executed once the US gives India the right competitive advantage over its competitors in the American market [7]. [7]
External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar raised India's concerns related to the US Sanctioning Russia and Iran Act during a meeting with US Secretary of State Marco Rubio on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly [7]. [7]
On 30 September 2026, Prime Minister Modi and President Trump held a phone call that Modi described as a 'productive conversation,' reviewing cooperation in trade, defence, energy and critical technologies [2][6][8]. [2][6][8]
The record shows India and the US were still working towards an interim trade deal after months of negotiations, with Goyal visiting the US from 29 September to 5 October 2026 for further discussions [1][6]. [1][6]
The claim that Prime Minister Modi 'surrendered' to President Trump is a characterisation of diplomatic conduct, and Rathee's post offers no document, court finding or official figure to support it. The record before me instead shows India negotiating — a minister setting conditions on executing the deal, the external affairs minister raising objections to a US sanctions law, and a leaders' call described as a 'productive conversation' reviewing cooperation. None of the official PIB releases or independent reports document any concession that amounts to a surrender, so the characterisation is not supported by the record.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
No proofDhruv Rathee2 Sept 2026
“and the alleged crackdown on those documenting the crisis”
The claim asserts that a crackdown on people documenting a government-school crisis has occurred, but the retrieved official record contains no document, court finding, police record or government figure showing such a crackdown. The government sources on education discuss budget allocations, not action against documenters. Because no order, FIR, parliamentary answer or commission report is provided to support the allegation, it remains unproven in the record.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee states that there has been a crackdown on people documenting the crisis in India's government schools.
youtube.com, 2 Sept 2026
What is actually true
The retrieved sources do not mention any documentation of a crisis in government schools or action against those documenting it. A Ministry of Education release from February 2023 describes budget allocations and schemes such as PM SHRI and Samagra Shiksha, but says nothing about a crackdown on documenters. A Ministry of Home Affairs release from April 2025 concerns anti-Maoist operations and also does not address the claim.
None of the retrieved sources contains a court order, police record, government notice or official figure showing action against people documenting a crisis in India's government schools. [1][2][3][4]
The Ministry of Education's February 2023 release focuses on the highest-ever allocation for the ministry and schemes such as PM SHRI and Samagra Shiksha, with no mention of a crisis or crackdown on documenters. [3]
The Ministry of Home Affairs' April 2025 release concerns Naxalism and left-wing extremism, not documentation of conditions in government schools. [4]
The claim asserts that a crackdown on people documenting a government-school crisis has occurred, but the retrieved official record contains no document, court finding, police record or government figure showing such a crackdown. The government sources on education discuss budget allocations, not action against documenters. Because no order, FIR, parliamentary answer or commission report is provided to support the allegation, it remains unproven in the record.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
Misleading
13 claims
Part of it is true, but the way it was said gives a wrong picture.
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 12 Oct 2026
“Recently, the ministry of mines announced that ∼ 60 lakh metric tonnes of lithium, or "white gold," or "new oil," had been found in Jammu and Kashmir.”
∼ 60 lakh metric tonnes of lithium, 5.9 million tonnes
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
∼ 60 lakh metric tonnes of lithium
Dhruv Rathee said the Ministry of Mines announced that about 60 lakh metric tonnes of lithium — called 'white gold' or 'new oil' — had been found in Jammu and Kashmir.
facebook.com, checked 12 Oct 2026
What is actually true
5.9 million tonnes
lithium ore inferred resource, GSI, J&K, 2026
sansad.in
The Ministry of Mines told Parliament on 13 March 2023 that the Geological Survey of India (GSI) had estimated an inferred resource (G3) of 5.9 million tonnes of lithium ore in Salal-Haimna, Reasi district, Jammu and Kashmir. The same official record describes the find as lithium ore with an average grade of 583 ppm, not as 60 lakh tonnes of lithium.
The Ministry of Mines told Parliament that GSI estimated 5.9 million tonnes of lithium ore in Salal-Haimna, Reasi district, Jammu and Kashmir. [2][3]
The official record describes the find as lithium ore with an average grade of 583 ppm, not as pure lithium. [6]
The figure of 5.9 million tonnes is close to the claimed 60 lakh tonnes, but the official unit is lithium ore, not lithium. [2]
The number is roughly right: 5.9 million tonnes is about 59 lakh tonnes. But the Ministry of Mines and GSI consistently describe the find as lithium ore, not lithium. Calling it 60 lakh tonnes of lithium overstates what was found, because the ore contains lithium at an average grade of 583 ppm. The 'white gold' and 'new oil' labels are not in the official record.
“The rape-murder case in West Bengal is heartbreaking. It exposes the inhumane working conditions for doctors, the lack of their safety and the miserable state of law and order in West Bengal.”
The court record supports that doctors' safety was a serious concern and that the incident led to protests and disruption. But the record does not describe working conditions as 'inhumane' or law and order in West Bengal as 'miserable'; those are the speaker's characterisations, not findings in the orders. The claim therefore overstates what the official record shows.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee said the rape-murder case in West Bengal exposes inhumane working conditions for doctors, a lack of safety for them, and the miserable state of law and order in West Bengal.
livemint.com, checked 12 Oct 2026
What is actually true
In orders dated 20 August, 22 August, 9 September and 30 September 2024, the Supreme Court said it was seized of the safety and well-being of medical professionals, noted that most resident doctors had left RG Kar after the incident, directed CISF deployment and set up a National Task Force. The court did not find that working conditions were 'inhumane' or that law and order in West Bengal was 'miserable'.
The Supreme Court's 20 August 2024 order said the court was seized of matters relating to the safety and well-being of all medical professionals at their workplaces and that it was essential to create safe conditions for interns, residents and senior residents. [1]
The 22 August 2024 order recorded that CISF had been deployed at RG Kar Medical College and Hospital to ensure the safety of doctors, nurses and other medical professionals, and directed all states and union territories to be alert to safety breaches in medical establishments. [2]
The 9 September 2024 order noted resident doctors across West Bengal had been abstaining from duty for 28 days, causing severe disruptions, and said the state must create confidence in doctors that their security and safety concerns are being attended to. [3]
The 30 September 2024 order recorded that the CBI was investigating the alleged rape and murder of 9 August 2024 and financial irregularities, and that the state had brought in new officers and was carrying out safety infrastructure work. [4]
The court record supports that doctors' safety was a serious concern and that the incident led to protests and disruption. But the record does not describe working conditions as 'inhumane' or law and order in West Bengal as 'miserable'; those are the speaker's characterisations, not findings in the orders. The claim therefore overstates what the official record shows.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“Strained ties with neighbors (Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives) shifting to China”
The claim is true for Bangladesh and partly for Nepal, but it wrongly lumps Bhutan and Maldives into the same category. The record describes Bhutan as India's most reliable ally and says Maldives has reaffirmed ties with India, so the assertion that all four are strained and shifting to China overstates the situation.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee said India's ties with its neighbours Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan and Maldives are strained and those countries are shifting towards China.
x.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
A December 2025 report of the Lok Sabha Committee on External Affairs says attacks on minorities in Bangladesh have strained bilateral relations. A 2024 analysis by the Observer Research Foundation, a think tank, says Nepal has a pro-China tilt and that neighbours balance India against China, but it calls Bhutan India's most reliable ally. A separate analysis says Bhutan and Maldives have reaffirmed ties with India while balancing diplomatic engagement with China.
The Lok Sabha Committee on External Affairs noted in December 2025 that attacks on minority communities in Bangladesh have strained bilateral relations. [5]
The Observer Research Foundation wrote in 2024 that Nepal has a pro-China tilt and that neighbours balance India against China, but described Bhutan as India's most reliable ally. [2]
An analysis of India's relations with Bhutan and Maldives says both countries have reaffirmed their ties with India while balancing diplomatic engagements with China. [3]
In September 2026, Rediff reported that India had significantly increased its diplomatic engagements with Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh and the Maldives. [7]
The claim is true for Bangladesh and partly for Nepal, but it wrongly lumps Bhutan and Maldives into the same category. The record describes Bhutan as India's most reliable ally and says Maldives has reaffirmed ties with India, so the assertion that all four are strained and shifting to China overstates the situation.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“How NEET Exam Was SOLD for ₹30 Lakhs | The Complete Trail | Dhruv Rathee”
₹30 lakhs
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
₹30 lakhs
Dhruv Rathee published a video titled 'How NEET Exam Was SOLD for ₹30 Lakhs | The Complete Trail', asserting that the NEET exam was sold for ₹30 lakhs.
bhopalsamachar.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
The Ministry of Education told the Lok Sabha on 26 March 2025 that after NEET (UG) 2024 the CBI filed five charge sheets in the paper theft case against 45 accused [7]. The same parliamentary answer quoted the Supreme Court's 2 August 2024 order saying there was no material on record indicating a systemic leak or widespread malpractice [7]. For NEET-UG 2026, the CBI said on 15 May 2026 that students paid several lakhs of rupees to attend classes where leaked question banks were dictated, but it did not give a ₹30-lakh figure [8].
In the 2024 NEET case, accused persons admitted that the question paper was leaked about 24 hours before the exam to those who paid ₹30–32 lakh, according to an interrogation report cited in a news account [2]. [2]
In 2026, India Today reported that two Rajasthan brothers allegedly bought the NEET-UG paper from a Gurugram doctor for ₹30 lakh about a week before the exam [3]. [3]
The Supreme Court held in its 2 August 2024 order, quoted in Parliament, that sufficient material was not on record to indicate a systemic leak or systemic malpractice, and that the material did not substantiate allegations of widespread malpractice [7]. [7]
The CBI filed five charge sheets against 45 accused in the NEET (UG) 2024 paper theft case, and identified candidates who were beneficiaries of the paper theft or unfair means [7]. [7]
For NEET-UG 2026, the CBI said students paid several lakhs of rupees to attend special coaching classes where leaked question banks were dictated, but it did not say the exam was sold for ₹30 lakhs [8]. [8]
The exact ₹30-lakh figure appears in media reports about alleged deals in 2024 and 2026, not in the official record. More importantly, saying the NEET exam itself was sold overstates the matter: the Supreme Court's order quoted in Parliament found no evidence of a systemic leak in 2024, even as officials recorded paper theft and unfair-means cases. The title would need to specify that a question paper was allegedly sold, rather than the exam as a whole.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“a software that was never tested decided who is Indian and who isn't”
The claim contains a true element — the software was reported as untested — but it overstates what the software did. The report says the software flagged voters as suspicious, not that it decided who is Indian and who is not; the Election Commission then issued summons to some, and the final decision rests with electoral authorities under law. The official record does not show any software making citizenship decisions.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee claims that a software that was never tested decided who is Indian and who isn't, in the context of the West Bengal elections.
youtube.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
No official document in the provided record states that a software decided who is Indian and who is not. The Supreme Court's 27 May 2026 order in Association for Democratic Reforms v Election Commission of India concerns the Special Intensive Revision in Bihar and does not mention any software deciding citizenship. An investigative report by The Reporters' Collective says the Election Commission's software was untested and red-flagged 1.31 crore West Bengal voters as suspicious, but it also says not all those flagged received summons.
The Reporters' Collective reported that the Election Commission's software was untested and red-flagged 1.31 crore voters in West Bengal as suspicious, or 17.11% of the voting population. [3]
The same report says not all those red-flagged by the software are receiving summons from the Election Commission. [3]
The Supreme Court's 27 May 2026 order in Association for Democratic Reforms v Election Commission of India deals with the Special Intensive Revision in Bihar and does not mention any software deciding citizenship. [9]
The claim contains a true element — the software was reported as untested — but it overstates what the software did. The report says the software flagged voters as suspicious, not that it decided who is Indian and who is not; the Election Commission then issued summons to some, and the final decision rests with electoral authorities under law. The official record does not show any software making citizenship decisions.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“In 2019, the Modi government slashed corporate tax rates, resulting in a revenue loss of ₹1.45 lakh crore in 2019-20 alone. Over the past five years, the government's revenue loss due to corporate tax cuts amounts to ₹9 trillion.”
₹1.45 lakh crore in 2019-20; ₹9 trillion over five years, ₹1.45 lakh crore
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
₹1.45 lakh crore in 2019-20; ₹9 trillion over five years
Dhruv Rathee said the Modi government's 2019 corporate tax rate cuts caused a revenue loss of ₹1.45 lakh crore in 2019-20 and ₹9 trillion over five years.
jotosob.in, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
₹1.45 lakh crore
revenue impact of corporate tax reforms, Finance Ministry, June 2020
pib.gov.in
The Finance Ministry's Press Information Bureau release of 7 June 2020 estimated the revenue impact of the corporate tax reforms at ₹1.45 lakh crore for 2019-20. A Rajya Sabha answer from the Ministry of Finance notes that corporate tax collections recovered to ₹7.12 lakh crore in 2021-22, higher than in 2018-19. No official source in the record states a five-year revenue loss of ₹9 trillion; a report citing a Parliament reply puts the concessional corporate tax regime's revenue impact at about ₹5.39 lakh crore over six years.
The Finance Ministry's 7 June 2020 PIB release estimated the revenue impact of the corporate tax reforms at ₹1.45 lakh crore for 2019-20. [3]
The 2019 Taxation Laws (Amendment) Ordinance provided a concessional corporate tax regime of 22% for existing domestic companies. [3]
A Rajya Sabha answer said corporate tax collections in 2021-22 were ₹7.12 lakh crore, higher than the 2018-19 collection. [1]
A report citing a Parliament reply put the concessional corporate tax regime's revenue impact at about ₹5.39 lakh crore over six years, not ₹9 trillion. [4]
The first figure is accurate: the Finance Ministry itself estimated ₹1.45 lakh crore for 2019-20. But the five-year ₹9 trillion figure, which is ₹9 lakh crore, is not supported by the record. The only multi-year breakdown in the sources totals about ₹5.39 lakh crore over six years, and official data shows corporate tax collections recovered above pre-cut levels by 2021-22. The claim therefore mixes a correct one-year estimate with an inflated five-year total.
The claim uses a superlative. The record supports that Kedarnath 2013 was among the worst Himalayan disasters, but not that it was the worst. Without an official comparative ranking of all Himalayan disasters, the stronger claim overstates what the record shows.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee claims that the 2013 Kedarnath disaster is India's worst Himalayan disaster.
youtube.com, 25 Sept 2026
What is actually true
The National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM), a Ministry of Home Affairs body, has published material on the 2013 Uttarakhand disaster. The sources in the record describe the Kedarnath disaster as one of the worst or most devastating natural disasters in India's recent history. They do not provide a comparative ranking that makes it the single worst Himalayan disaster.
The 2013 Kedarnath disaster was a cloudburst and flash flood in Uttarakhand in June 2013. [1][2][3]
Several sources describe it as one of the worst or most devastating natural disasters in India's recent history, not as the single worst. [1][2][3][6][7]
The National Institute of Disaster Management, a Ministry of Home Affairs body, has published material on the Uttarakhand disaster of 2013, but the record does not rank it as India's worst Himalayan disaster. [4]
The claim uses a superlative. The record supports that Kedarnath 2013 was among the worst Himalayan disasters, but not that it was the worst. Without an official comparative ranking of all Himalayan disasters, the stronger claim overstates what the record shows.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 12 Oct 2026
“India launched Operation Sindoor—nine precise cross-border actions on 7 May”
nine precise cross-border actions, 9 terror camps
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
nine precise cross-border actions
Dhruv Rathee said India launched Operation Sindoor, consisting of nine precise cross-border actions, on 7 May.
open.spotify.com, checked 12 Oct 2026
What is actually true
9 terror camps
terror camps targeted in Operation Sindoor, MEA, 2026
mea.gov.in
The Ministry of External Affairs says multi-agency intelligence provided confirmation of nine major camps targeted in Operation Sindoor. PIB says Operation Sindoor destroyed nine major terror launchpads. The official PIB document also records the first press briefing on 7 May 2025, but does not state the date the operation was launched.
The Ministry of External Affairs confirms that nine major camps were targeted in Operation Sindoor. [3]
PIB says India launched Operation Sindoor to destroy terror bases and eliminated nine terror camps. [1][5]
ORF reports the operation began on the night of 6-7 May 2025; Firstpost says strikes took place at 1.44 am on 7 May. [2][4]
The claim is largely accurate: official records confirm Operation Sindoor and nine terror camps, and the date 7 May is consistent with the first press briefing and reporting. However, the official documents retrieved do not explicitly state the launch date as 7 May; that date comes from non-official sources. Since the official record does not confirm every specific, the verdict is MISSING_CONTEXT rather than ACCURATE.
““One was a Muslim, one a Christian, and the remaining were Hindus.””
one Muslim, one Christian, and the remaining were Hindus
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
one Muslim, one Christian, and the remaining were Hindus
Dhruv Rathee said that of the 26 male victims killed in the 22 April 2025 Pahalgam terror attack in Anantnag, Jammu & Kashmir, one was Muslim, one Christian, and the remainder were Hindus.
thecommunemag.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
The Press Information Bureau (PIB), the government's official publicity office, said in a 14 May 2025 note that the 22 April 2025 Pahalgam attack killed 26 innocent civilians, mostly Hindu tourists [6]. Home Minister Amit Shah's 29 July 2025 Lok Sabha statement also records 26 people killed but gives no religion-wise breakdown [5]. No official list in the provided record states how many of the dead were Muslim, Christian or Hindu.
The PIB's 14 May 2025 note says the Pahalgam attack killed 26 innocent civilians, mostly Hindu tourists. [6][7]
Wikipedia's entry says the attackers targeted Hindu tourists, though a Christian tourist and a local Muslim pony ride operator were also killed. [1][3]
The same Wikipedia entry also says an initial list verified by local officials showed 25 of the 26 killed were Hindus and one was a local Muslim pony operator. [1]
News18 reported that of the 26 victims, 25 were non-Muslims, primarily Hindus, and the lone Muslim fatality was a local horse operator. [4]
The official record confirms the total of 26 dead and that most were Hindu tourists, but it does not support the precise breakdown Rathee gave. Media reports conflict: one says a Christian tourist was killed, while an initial verified list said 25 Hindus and one Muslim. Because the exact religious composition is not established by the official record and the available reports disagree, the claim needs that missing context.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Ratheechecked 1 Oct 2026
“In the GST Council meeting held on December 21, 2024, crucial tax decisions affected everyday items like popcorn and vehicles, dramatically impacting India's middle class.”
18%
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee said that in the GST Council meeting held on December 21, 2024, crucial tax decisions affected everyday items like popcorn and vehicles, dramatically impacting India's middle class.
youtube.com, checked 1 Oct 2026
What is actually true
18%
GST on old/used vehicles, 55th Council, 21 Dec 2024
cbic-gst.gov.in
The Ministry of Finance's 21 December 2024 press release on the 55th GST Council meeting says the Council recommended increasing GST from 12% to 18% on the sale of all old and used vehicles, including EVs, with GST applicable only on the margin. It also clarified popcorn rates: 5% for ready-to-eat salted/spiced popcorn sold not pre-packaged or labelled, 12% if pre-packaged and labelled, and 18% for caramel popcorn.
The 55th GST Council met on 21 December 2024 in Jaisalmer, chaired by Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman. [5][6]
The Council recommended raising GST on old and used vehicles, including EVs, from 12% to 18%, but only on the margin between purchase price and selling price. [5][6]
The Council clarified popcorn GST: 5% for ready-to-eat salted/spiced popcorn sold not pre-packaged or labelled, 12% if pre-packaged and labelled, and 18% for caramel popcorn. [5][6]
The official press release describes the popcorn change as a clarification to settle interpretation disputes; it does not state that the decisions dramatically impact India's middle class. [5][6]
The meeting and the popcorn and vehicle decisions are real, so the first part of the claim is accurate. But the official record does not support the 'dramatically impacting India's middle class' part. The vehicle rate increase applies only to old and used vehicles and only on the margin, not the full sale price, and the popcorn rates are clarifications of existing classification, not a new tax on all popcorn. That context is missing from the claim.
“This video breaks down what Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi reportedly raised”
The claim is that the two Election Commissioners reportedly raised objections or concerns inside the Election Commission. That is supported by reporting, including the Indian Express investigation. But the official record from the Election Commission says the SIR decisions were unanimous, which is important context the claim leaves out. So the claim is not false, but it is incomplete.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee says Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi reportedly raised objections or concerns inside the Election Commission of India.
youtube.com, 28 Sept 2026
What is actually true
The Election Commission of India's press note of 26 September 2026 says the Special Intensive Revision (SIR) order of 24 June 2025 and the schedules of 27 October 2025 and 14 May 2026 were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission. It also says work re-distribution orders were not actually implemented after the orders of the two Commissioners.
The Indian Express reported that Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi recorded objections at least 14 times over 10 months to decisions issued in the Commission's name without their knowledge or approval. [2][5]
The reported objections related to electoral roll management, voter registration and deletion, changes to Form 6, and the functioning of the Commission's voter database. [2][5]
The Election Commission's press note of 26 September 2026 says the SIR orders were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission, but it does not say the two Commissioners raised no objections on other matters. [9]
The claim is that the two Election Commissioners reportedly raised objections or concerns inside the Election Commission. That is supported by reporting, including the Indian Express investigation. But the official record from the Election Commission says the SIR decisions were unanimous, which is important context the claim leaves out. So the claim is not false, but it is incomplete.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Rathee28 Sept 2026
“An Indian Express investigation has revealed internal objections over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and the SIR process. This video breaks down what Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi reportedly raised, the questions surrounding Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar, and the Election Commission’s response.”
The claim is accurate about what the Indian Express investigation reported, but it presents those reported objections as established fact. The Election Commission's own record says the SIR decisions were unanimous and describes the reported objections as part of the normal deliberative process. Because the official record does not confirm the internal objections over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and SIR, the claim needs that context.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee states that an Indian Express investigation revealed internal objections inside the Election Commission of India over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and the SIR process, raised by Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi, with questions surrounding Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar.
youtube.com, 28 Sept 2026
What is actually true
The Election Commission's press note of 26 September 2026 says the SIR orders of 24 June 2025, 27 October 2025 and 14 May 2026 were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission [11]. It also says work re-distribution orders were not implemented after the orders of the two Commissioners and oversight over the IT division by the DEC was never actually withdrawn [11]. Reporting says the Indian Express investigation claimed the two Election Commissioners recorded at least 14 objections over 10 months on voter registration, deletions, database and appeals [6][8].
The Indian Express report, as described by Livemint and Hindustan Times, said Election Commissioners Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Vivek Joshi raised at least 14 objections over 10 months about the Election Commission's functioning, including adding and removing voters, the voter database and appeals [6][8]. [6][8]
The Election Commission's press note of 26 September 2026 states that SIR orders were issued with the unanimous approval of the Commission [11]. [11]
Election Commission officials told Hindustan Times that all decisions, including SIR, were unanimous and had the approval of both Election Commissioners and the CEC [8]. [8]
The claim is accurate about what the Indian Express investigation reported, but it presents those reported objections as established fact. The Election Commission's own record says the SIR decisions were unanimous and describes the reported objections as part of the normal deliberative process. Because the official record does not confirm the internal objections over voter lists, ECINet, Form 6 and SIR, the claim needs that context.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
MisleadingDhruv Rathee24 Jul 2026
“What really happened during the students’ Parliament march in Delhi on 20 July 2026?”
The claim that a students' march towards Parliament took place in Delhi on 20 July 2026 is supported by contemporaneous media reporting, but the official record available only confirms that Parliament's Monsoon Session began that day. Because press reports alone cannot make the claim accurate, and the record leaves out that the march was CJP-led and was stopped short of Parliament, the claim is missing context rather than fully established.
What the evidence showsHide the evidence↓↑
What they said
Dhruv Rathee states that a students' Parliament march took place in Delhi on 20 July 2026 as part of a protest over students' demands.
youtube.com, 24 Jul 2026
What is actually true
The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs recorded that the Monsoon Session of Parliament commenced on 20 July 2026 [3][6]. Reporting describes a CJP-led student march moving from Jantar Mantar towards Parliament that day, which police stopped with barricades and tear gas [2][5][1]. No official document among the sources confirms the march itself or labels it as a protest over students' demands.
The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs recorded that Parliament's Monsoon Session began on 20 July 2026. [3][6]
Contemporaneous reporting describes a CJP-led student march that moved from Jantar Mantar towards Parliament in Delhi on 20 July 2026. [2][5]
Police used barricades and tear gas to stop the crowd entering Parliament's high-security complex. [1][2][5]
The CJP protest was linked to student concerns, including demands for the resignation of the Union education minister. [4]
The claim that a students' march towards Parliament took place in Delhi on 20 July 2026 is supported by contemporaneous media reporting, but the official record available only confirms that Parliament's Monsoon Session began that day. Because press reports alone cannot make the claim accurate, and the record leaves out that the march was CJP-led and was stopped short of Parliament, the claim is missing context rather than fully established.
How this was checked: Checked against official records
This page reports claims and the verdicts reached on them. It does not characterise Dhruv Rathee, and no aggregate rating of any entity is published here — see the methodology.